Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Rustic Roads Board

The purpose of the Rustic Roads program is to preserve what remains of Wisconsin’s scenic, lightly traveled back roads for the leisurely enjoyment of bikers, hikers, and motorists.

The Rustic Roads Board is responsible for assisting in the establishment of the Rustic Roads system by considering local governments’ applications for Rustic Road designation and exercising final approval authority for Rustic Road designation through a formal vote.

Per statute, the Rustic Roads Board is composed of four members appointed directly by WisDOT Secretary, four members nominated through Wisconsin Counties Association for Secretary approval and the two chairs from the legislative standing committees on transportation. Appointees serve staggered four year terms.

Rustic Roads Board members

  • Marion Flood, Chair (Stevens Point, WI)
  • Daniel Fedderly, Vice Chair (Boyceville, WI)
  • Raymond DeHahn (Racine, WI)
  • Barbara Fleisner LaMue (Green Bay, WI)
  • Bruce Lindgren (Herbster, WI)
  • Alan Lorenz (La Crosse, WI)
  • Senator Jerry Petrowski, 29th Senate District
  • Charles Rayala (Manitowish Waters, WI)
  • Representative Keith Ripp, 42nd Assembly District
  • Thomas Solheim (Madison, WI)

Photos from the November 12, 2012, Rustic Roads Board meeting

Wisconsin Department of Transportation Secretary Mark Gottlieb recently acknowledged members of the Rustic Roads Board for their volunteer commitment to the state’s roadway preservation program.

Rustic Roads Board Member
Rustic Roads Board with
Coordinator Jane Carrola

Rustic Roads Board Member
Marion Flood, Chair

Rustic Roads Board Member
Daniel Fedderly, Vice Chair

Rustic Roads Board Member
Raymond DeHahn

Rustic Roads Board Member
Bob Hansen

Rustic Roads Board Member
Bruce Lindgren

Rustic Roads Board Member
Alan Lorenz

Rustic Roads Board Member
Charles Rayala

Rustic Roads Board Member
Tyler Wenzlaff accepting for
Representative Keith Ripp
Rustic Roads Board Member
Thomas Solheim

Questions about the content of this page:
Jane Carrola, jane.carrola@dot.wi.gov

Last modified: October 8, 2013

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.