Many Wisconsinites travel through Northern Illinois to visit
Chicago or on their way to another destination.
Illinois operates a tollway, collecting tolls at various points.
Motorists may proceed through the tolls by stopping to pay at each
collection point or with an electronic transponder called an I-Pass
which allows vehicles to move through each point without stopping.
About the Illinois Tollway
The Illinois Tollway maintains and operates 286 miles of
interstate tollways in 12 counties in Northern Illinois, including
the Reagan Memorial Tollway (I-88), Veterans Memorial Tollway
(I-355), the Jane Addams Memorial Tollway (I-90) and the Tri-State
Tollway (I-94, I-294, I-80).
Tollway Violation Enforcement Program
Illinois Tollway drivers should make sure they either have money
to pay the tolls or an I-PASS or EZ-Pass transponder with money in
their account. If you find yourself without exact change at an
unmanned booth or accidentally drive through an Open Road Tolling or
I-PASS lane without an I-PASS, you can pay a missed toll within
seven days on the Tollway's Web site or by calling 1-800-UC-IPASS.
Under the Illinois Tollway's Violation Enforcement Program, $20
fines are issued for every unpaid toll. Notices are sent to
violators accumulating 3 or more toll violations over a two-year
period. Violators have 21 days to either pay the fines or request a
hearing to contest the violation notices. If notices or hearing
findings are ignored, additional penalties can apply including
increased fines by $50 to $70 per violation, suspension of license
plates and driver's licenses, and referral to collection agencies.
Request a Hearing
Occasionally, drivers will receive an incorrect violation notice
and the vehicle description and license plate type of the driver
that committed the offense, may not match your vehicle and
registration. Drivers who are incorrectly identified as violators
need to request a hearing from the Illinois Tollway, which can be
done by mail, to contest the violations. The hearing request must be
in advance of the date on the notice to pay. You must notify the
tollway if the photo from the violation displays a plate or vehicle
that does not belong to you. This information about the discrepancy
is an important part of your hearing request so that the hearing
examiner can review both records.