Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Manufactured homes, mobile homes, recreational vehicle trailers and camping trailers

Vehicle definitions

For manufactured homes, mobile homes and non-collapsible recreational vehicle trailers, send the title and registration application to either the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) or the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) - depending on the vehicle type, model year and length of the vehicle. See table below:

Vehicle type: Send application to:
Any length travel trailer, 5th wheel, camping trailer, pop-up trailer, park model trailer - that is recreational vehicle (trailer) - see definition WisDOT
Recreational vehicle trailer or mobile home -  1976 and newer, less than 40 feet WisDOT
Recreational vehicle trailer or mobile home 1975 and older, 45 feet or less  WisDOT
Mobile home 1976 and newer, 40 feet or greater DSPS
Mobile home 1975 and older, greater than 45 feet DSPS
Manufactured home (A home without its own axles, or axles removed upon use as a housing unit) - any length DSPS
Other trailers WisDOT

Manufactured/mobile homes or recreational vehicles

Manufactured and mobile homes greater than 45 feet long, except for fifth wheel, travel trailers or park model RV trailers, are exempt from registration. Manufactured and mobile homes must be titled.

The temporary undercarriage on which a manufactured/modular home is transported need not be titled, but during operation on a public road, it must display a Transferable Trailer license plate registered to the transporter. (See applying for title and registration.) The transferable trailer plate should be applied for at the weight sufficient to cover the total weight of the undercarriage plus the load.

If the manufactured, mobile home (new or used) or recreational vehicle is 45 feet or less in length, tax is due on the full purchase price.

If the manufactured, mobile home (new or used) or recreational vehicle is 45 feet or less in length and is being purchased as real estate, i.e., the mobile home is on a foundation, hooked up to utilities and the mobile home and land are both being purchased, no tax is collected by WisDOT. However, fifth wheel, travel trailer or park model RV trailers exceeding 45 feet are titled by the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and tax is collected by DMV. Send applications to the Vehicle Registration and Titling Unit (VRT), Room 201, Hill Farms State Transportation Building, Madison, WI 53705.

Transactions for mobile homes (new or used), in excess of 45 feet in length are handled by the Department of Safety and Professional Services, except fifth wheel, travel trailer or park model RV trailers exceeding 45 feet, which are titled by the DMV. Send applications to the Vehicle Registration and Titling Unit (VRT), Room 201, Hill Farms State Transportation Building, Madison, WI 53705.

Camping or pop-up trailers

A title and registration is not required for collapsible camping trailers at or less than 3,000 pounds gross weight unless they are used for hire or rental. Title and registration is encouraged for vehicles that will be used on roads outside the state of Wisconsin, as other states' registration laws may be different.

Gross weight trailers

A title and registration is required for trailers operated over 3,000 pounds.  A title and registration is not required for trailers operated at or less than 3,000 pounds gross weight unless used for hire or rental.  Title and registration is encouraged for these vehicles that will be used on roads outside the state of Wisconsin, as other states' registration laws may be different.

WisDOT applications

To apply, send:

  1. The original Certificate of Title or Manufacturers Statement of Origin (MSO) signed by the previous owner or dealer.
  2. Completed and signed form MV1 showing the length of the mobile home/travel trailer. Make a copy of the completed MV1 form for your records.
  3. License plate fees. If the trailer has plates on it, the plates will stay on the trailer. If not, submit the appropriate fees.
  4. Title fee
  5. Sales tax
  6. Local sales tax (if applicable)
  7. Check or money order made payable to: Registration Fee Trust

Mail application to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 7949
Madison WI 53707-7949

Department of Safety and Professional Services

For applications that need to be submitted to the Department of Safety and Professional Services, application forms can be found at: Information on transactions involving manufactured/mobile homes.

If you have any questions, contact:

Department of Safety and Professional Services
P.O. Box 1355
Madison WI 53701-1355
Phone: (608) 264-9596
Email: manf-homes@commerce.state.wi.us

Questions? Contact us: Wisconsin DMV email service

Last modified: August 9, 2012

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.