Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Removing the lien from a title

Beginning July 30, 2012, state law requires the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) to send titles to the lien holder (lender). The owner will receive a Confirmation of Ownership document that provides the same information as a title, but cannot be used to transfer ownership or record another lien. When all lien holders release their lien(s), you will receive a certificate of title.

To confirm whether there is a lien on any Wisconsin titled vehicle, use the Lien look up online application. The lien information displayed is from the official WisDOT vehicle record.

Liens listed before July 30, 2012

If your lending institution informs you that they electronically released their lien on your vehicle, you do not need to get a new title. Just keep the notice of lien release the lending institution sent to you with your title and provide it to the next owner when you sell or dispose of the vehicle.

If your lien was not released electronically, send your original Wisconsin title (not a copy) and one of the following:

  • A "Confirmation of Security Interest (Lien) Perfection" (form T084 or MV2076), which the lending institution should send to you.
  • Or, an original letter (copy or fax to customer is not acceptable) from your lender on their letterhead releasing the lien. The letter must:
    • describe the vehicle by make
    • include the vehicle identification number
    • contain a signature and position of the person signing, and
    • include the release date
  • Or, the lender stamps your title "PAID." The stamp must show the name of the financial institution with the signature, position of the person signing, and the release date.

If you can't locate your title, you may apply for a replacement title at the same time you have the lien cleared. The replacement title costs $20. There is an additional $5 fee for processing at the customer service center.

Note: Owners will receive a replacement title for vehicles that have a loan listed prior to July 30, 2012. Requests for a replacement title on vehicles that have a loan listed on or after July 30, 2012, can only be done by the first lien holder listed on the title.

Liens listed on or after July 30, 2012

If your lending institution informs you that they electronically released their lien on your vehicle, you will receive a new title in the mail unless there is another loan on your vehicle.

If your lien was not released electronically, send a valid lien release (see above) to the address below.

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 7949
Madison, WI 53707-7949

If mailed, there is no fee to remove a lien from a Wisconsin title. Allow up to six weeks to receive a new title.

You may bring the application and lien release to any DMV service center offering title and registration services for immediate processing. There is a $5 fee for processing at the customer service center.

Questions? Contact us: Wisconsin DMV email service

For more information:

Last modified: July 26, 2012

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.