Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Dealer registration plates

Dealer license plate
Dealer license plate

Licensed dealers are issued dealer registration plates for use on vehicles the dealership owns and offers for sale.

Licensed dealers should follow these requirements:

  • Use the plate on vehicles owned and actually offered for sale by the dealership. The plate may be used on these vehicles whether theyíre driven for business or personal purposes.
  • Display a Wisconsin Buyers Guide or Monroney label on any vehicle displaying a dealer plate as proof that the vehicle is owned and offered for sale by the dealership. (A label need not be displayed while driving a vehicle to or from a wholesale transaction.)
  • Dealer plates may be used on loaner vehicles if the vehicles are offered for sale and display a Wisconsin Buyers Guide or Monroney label.
  • Make sure vehicles used by employees are available for display at the dealership during business hours.
  • Donít use dealer plates on rental vehicles (they arenít offered for sale while being used for rent.)
  • Donít use dealer plates on service vehicles and tow trucks.
  • If you allow your spouse or children residing in your household to use dealer plates, do be certain the vehicle is actually labeled and offered for sale and available for display at the dealership during business hours. While this type of use is technically permitted, it has caused adverse public reaction.
  • Improper use of dealer plates may result in a ticket.

Ordering additional plates

The fee for each additional dealer plate is $10.

To order additional plates, send a written request to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) Dealer & Agent Section at the address below. Your request should include the:

  • Dealership name, address, and telephone number
  • Dealer license number
  • Quantity of additional plates requested
  • Total fees payable to Registration Fee Trust

Allow 4-6 weeks for your plates to arrive.

How to report lost or stolen plates

Contact the WisDOT Dealer & Agent Section by mail, fax or email at the address below to report a lost or stolen plate. Youíll need to know the number of the plate that is missing. Before you report your missing plate, itís a good idea to wait about a week to see if it turns up. If you find a plate after youíve reported it missing, destroy it. It will already have been reported missing to law enforcement officials statewide, and you could be ticketed for using it.

Replacing a missing plate

If you wish to replace a lost or stolen plate, send the WisDOT Dealer & Agent Section a written request at the mailing address below. Include the following information in your request:

  • Dealership name, address, and telephone number
  • Dealer license number
  • Plate numbers of lost or stolen plates being replaced
  • Quantity of replacement plates requested
  • Fee of $2 per replacement plate, payable to Registration Fee Trust

Allow 4-6 weeks for your replacement plates to arrive.

If you have questions:

  • Email: dealers.dmv@dot.wi.gov
  • Call: (608) 266-1425
  • FAX: (608) 267-0323
  • Write to the address below:

    Wisconsin Department of Transportation
    Dealer & Agent Section
    4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 201
    P.O. Box 7909
    Madison, WI 53707-7909

Questions about the content of this page:
Division of Motor Vehicles, Dealer Section, dealers.dmv@dot.wi.gov
Last modified: April 17, 2007

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.